National Basketball Association

An American professional basketball league, the National Basketball Association (NBA), is based in Los Angeles, California.

As one of the most important professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada, the NHL has 30 clubs, 29 based in the United States and one in Canada.

In terms of professional basketball, it is the best league in the world for male players.


National Basketball Association

Basketball in the US is governed by the USA Basketball (USAB) organisation, which is a member of the FIBA (International Basketball Federation).

NBA Entertainment and NBA TV studios are based in Secaucus, New Jersey, while the league’s worldwide and individual franchise offices are based in Midtown Manhattan, New York City.

The NBA is the third richest professional sports league in North America, after the NFL and MLB, and one of the top four in the world by revenue.

Founder of the National Basketball Association

On June 6, 1946, the Basketball Association of America was created in New York City (BAA). After combining with the National Basketball League, it adopted the name “National Basketball Association” on August 3, 1949.

(NBL). As a result of the 1976 NBA/ABA merger, the league gained four new franchises. From October to April, each NBA team plays 82 games as part of the league’s regular season.

The playoffs for the league will go into June. As of 2020, NBA players are the world’s most highly paid athletes, based on average annual compensation.

History of the National Basketball Association

The owners of the biggest ice hockey arenas in the Northeast and Midwest of the United States and Canada created the Basketball Association of America in 1946.

When the Toronto Huskies hosted the New York Knickerbockers at Maple Leaf Gardens on November 1, 1946, the NBA currently refers to this game as the first game ever played in NBA history.

Ossie Schectman, a member of the Knickerbockers, created the first basket. The BAA was the first professional basketball league to attempt to play predominantly in huge venues in major cities.

Despite prior attempts by the American Basketball League and the National Basketball League.

Early on, the BAA’s quality of play was no greater than that of other leagues or leading independent clubs like the Harlem Globetrotters, which were also in the BAA.

National Basketball Association (NBA) Team

When the NBA was founded in 1946, there were just 11 clubs, but it has since grown into a league of 30. There are 29 teams in the United States and one in Canada.

30 teams are split into two conferences, each with three divisions of five clubs apiece. 2004–05 season introduced current divisional alignment.

This is a reflection of the population distribution of the United States and Canada: 13 teams are located in Eastern Time Zone, nine are in the Central Time Zone, three are located in the Mountain Time Zone, and five are situated in the Pacific Time Zone.

How Many Games in an NBA Season?

Only in 2020, when the season was shortened due to the Covid epidemic, did the NBA not play all 82 regular-season games.

There are 30 teams in the league, divided into Eastern and Western Conferences, all aiming for a playoff position.

A total of 12 clubs were added in the 1967-68 season, with additional teams joining in subsequent seasons.

All teams are required to play at least 41 away games and at least 41 home games each season.

How Many Games can you Play in the NBA play-offs?

The NBA’s greatest teams compete for the title of champions following the regular season. To select the NBA champion, teams compete in a postseason tournament.

They are made up of the best eight teams from each of the NBA’s two divisions—eight from each conference (East and West).

If two teams face each other seven times, the team that wins four of those games advances to the following round.

In the playoffs, the greatest number of games that could be played would be 105, while the maximum number of matches a team would play would be 28.

When does the NBA Season Start and Finish?

The NBA season typically begins in October and lasts through the middle of April on average.

Immediately following that, a fresh play-in competition will get underway, followed shortly thereafter by the main play-off event, which will go on until the end of May. In June, the NBA Finals are often held.

Number of Games In An NBA Season By Phases

NBA Season Game Counts, Broken Down into Phases

1. Pre-season

For the most part, this season’s games are viewed as nothing more than scrimmages. Players use this time to get in shape and get ready for the upcoming season.

Teams are given another chance to show off their skills and work out a new strategy. Each team plays eight preseason games.

2. Regular Season

The NBA regular season has a total of how many games is played? All of the NBA’s teams play a combined total of 1230 games throughout the regular season.

3. Post Season

The greatest players in the league compete in the All-Star game. It’s a smorgasbord of the best players in the league. Rather, the purpose of this is to re-ignite interest in the league.

In this case, the fans choose the starting lineup and the coaches pick the reserves. After the All-Star break, there is also a trade.

4. Playoffs

In April, the postseason begins. Larry O’Brien Championship Titles are awarded to the top eight teams in each division, regardless of divisional alignments.

Tournament-style playoffs are used here. Teams are seeded based on their regular-season record, and the order is strictly enforced.

5. Final Season

The conference champions meet in a best-of-seven series in the championship round. The NBA Finals are a well-known term for this.

Typically, it takes place in June. When two teams make it to the finals, they might play as many as 110 games apiece.

Have the Teams Always Played 82 Games in the NBA Season?

For the first time in 1946-47, the league’s 11 clubs competed in 60-61 games, including postseason play-in games and the championship game, won by Washington Capitols.

Following the 1947-48 season, the number of games per team was lowered to 48. The NBA did not mandate a minimum of 70 games until the 1953-54 season; clubs continued to play at least 72 games until the early 1960s.


Prior to the outbreak of the pandemic two seasons ago, the NBA has always played 82 regular-season games. The league returned to Orlando for the start of the season, playing eight games before the first playoff play-in event. The Los Angeles Lakers defeated the Miami Heat in the NBA finals in six games to claim the title of champions.